Are Peanut Butter Cheerios Kosher?


Because I have gotten more emails, tweets and Facebook comments about this topic than I think any other (!), I figured it deserves its own post.

Two weeks ago, I posted about the new coupon for Peanut Butter Multi-Grain Cheerios. A number of you have purchased them since then – hopefully using your coupon! – and became worried when you saw that there was no hechsher on the box.

Here’s the deal on Peanut Butter Multi-Grain Cheerios, per alerts:

New MULTI GRAIN CHEERIOS PEANUT BUTTER CEREAL mistakenly does not bear a Kosher symbol, but is nonetheless certified OU-D (dairy equipment).

Now, please bear in mind that I am NOT a halachic authority and I’m only sharing information widely available on the Internets! You should consult with your LOR if you have any questions about this issue.

Thanks to Rachel and Shandy for your comments on that original coupon post!




  1. You rock! Thank you! The box has been sitting on our shelf and everyone keeps bugging me to find out if they’re kosher or not. Glad I bothered checking – Never would have occurred to me a Cheerios product would be non-kosher, so I brought it home without checking and only noticed once I’d unpacked the box.

  2. Thanks so much for clearing this up! I didn’t buy them when I had the chance because of this. I hope I’ll have a chance before the coupon expires in a few days!

Leave a Comment